Familiar Faces Return for New Year on Board of Ed

Melissa Senatore, Michael Stewart and Jill Van Ness each sworn in for third terms.

Melissa Senatore, Michael Stewart and Jill Van Ness each took the oath of office to begin their third terms on the Board of Education at Thursday's reorganization meeting.

Edward Quigley was a write-in candidate in November's election, and he will serve a one-year term.

Senatore received the most votes with 4,966, Van Ness was second with 4,839 and Stewart was third with 4,699. Quigley beat Danielle Rowan on the write-in ballot, 126 votes to 10.

H. Ronald Smith and Matthew Millar were each re-appointed as council president and vice president, respectively.

"Thank you all for the vote of confidence," Smith said. "I just want to comment that...everybody has worked well together and I want to thank you all for the effort that you put in. I look forward to continuing cooperation."

The board announced its first official meeting will be held on Jan. 21, with the rest of the year's meetings as follows:

  • Feb. 18
  • March 18
  • April 15
  • May 20
  • June 17
  • July 15
  • Aug. 19
  • Sept. 16
  • Oct. 21
  • Nov. 18
  • Dec. 16


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something